top of page

My Solve, The Screaming Left Hand Turn

The best solve that wasn’t...or was it?

  • This is written for people who have been in the chase for awhile. I didn't explain a lot of terms but searchers will know.

The Thrill Of MY Chase

I’ve been searching for Forrest Fenn’s treasure for about 2 years. Now that the treasure has been found, here is my perfect solve that didn’t lead me to Indulgence, but led to many and varied treasures.

Begin it where warm waters halt

And take it in the canyon down,

Not far, but too far to walk.

Put in below the home of Brown.



Shown is the portion of the trout waters north of Santa Fe


Warm waters halt anywhere along the border of the New Mexico trout waters map. Note that the border runs along the base of the Rocky Mountains corresponding to US 550 and I-25. Anything outside of the blue area is warm waters which HALT at the border of the trout waters.

There are aberrations out on the edge. The aberrations out on the edge (white areas inside the pink/purple trout waters) are tribal lands or large private lands/reserves that are not included in the trout waters. The white areas are near Santa Fe, Heron Reservoir/El Vado Reservoir, and the area around Springer, they are all inside the border but are not included in trout waters.


The same map but a previous year's pink/purple color instead of blue. That's a lot of red and green. Where have I heard that before?



Note that the highlighted area of New Mexico on the map from

‘Too Far To Walk’ corresponds to the trout water map.





Most of the places where warm waters halt are north of Santa Fe.

With this border as my WWWH, where can I ‘Begin it and…’

“... take it in the canyon down,

Not far, but too far to walk.

Put in below the home of Brown”?

Let’s take a close up look at one place where warm waters halt- that big RED dot to the lower right of El Vado Reservoir.


HOLD UP LADY!!! - Forrest said WWWH has nothing to do with a dam – ha! Gotcha!!!”


That’s right, Sherlock.


That big red dot that is on the BORDER of WWWH is covering the first mile or so of the Rio Chama from the dam to the put in AT (not below, more on this later) Cooper’s El Vado Ranch.

That mile or so of river is the home of Brown, the HABITAT (HOME) of the largest Brown Trout ever caught in New Mexico, and it’s slightly smaller relatives that were also caught in this stretch of river.


From Cooper’s website -

The record brown trout was caught on the Rio Chama below El Vado Dam by G. T. Colgrove of Decatur, Texas, on July 8, 1946. It is the largest River Run Brown Trout ever caught in New Mexico. It weighed 20.5 pounds, was 35.5 inches long, and had a 21 inch girth. It is now displayed in our store.


Carl Trubee of Roswell caught another big one in October, 1964. It weighed 18 pounds and measured 34 5/8 inches long with a 20 inch girth. It still holds the record as the second largest brown ever caught in New Mexico.

The third largest honor goes to local resident Carl Cooper. In 1966, he landed a 14 pounder that was 32.5 inches long.

Lucky anglers still snag big ones in these parts. “

Did you ever hear a kid call a capital letter a Big letter?

HOLD UP LADY!!! - Forrest said wwwh has nothing to do with a structure (maybe) and that clue is not going to be around in 100-1,000 years – ha! Gotcha this time!!!”

HOB is NOT Cooper’s El Vado Ranch, that’s more like the museum or grave of Brown. The home or habitat of Brown is the mile or so stretch of river which is also WWWH. The information that this stretch of river was the home to the largest Browns in New Mexico will remain easily accessible information in 100 – 1000 years in whatever form the internet is in at those times.

Essentially WWWH and HOB are the same thing! Warm waters halt at this stretch of river and it is also the HOB.



So, if I begin IT (quest, path, course etc.) at this section of the river, and take it in the canyon down (Chama Canyon), not far, but too far to walk (about 22 miles) I arrive at the put in BELOW the HOB. Which is The Chavez Canyon put in.




Anyone can take a pencil and follow the canyon down, not far, but too far to walk to the Chavez Canyon Put in.


Below is the Chavez Canyon Put in

You don’t need a boat to get there, get on 151 see link below


I arrived at this first set simply by googling trout in New Mexico because it seemed obvious to me that the clues were connected to fishing and or the areas Forrest might discover fishing or looking for fishing spots. The first thing I discovered was the fishing map and the associated information.


 

Recap of the clues in stanza 2

Where warm waters halt = The border of the trout water map, NOT the dam

Canyon Down = Chama Canyon

Home of Brown = The first mile or so of the Rio Chama below the dam

Put in below the home of Brown = Chavez Canyon Put in


 

We’re at Chavez Canyon Put in, now what?


From there it’s no place for the meek,

The end is ever drawing nigh;

They’ll be no paddle up your creek,

Just heavy loads and water high



From there, about a mile as the crow fly's we come to...


THE SCREAMING LEFT HAND TURN


Not only does the name fit the description, "no place for the meek" it is a continuous left turn around the little land mass so it’s EVER DRAWING NIGH ...The end is ever drawing nigh.

As you can see a road right off of forest rd 151 ends at the piece of land, which by the way, is a little over 2 acres, and is a wood. If you are “ever drawing nigh” around that turn you end up at the same spot, so this has been my END.

This piece of land has 4 actual tree blazes, two of which are Indian bent trees, probably Ute, that pointed to the old river crossing to the Canada de la Presa. The other 2 are common axed blazes on two trees nearby. To those who think these clues will not be here in 100 years, you need to research the age of pinons and junipers in New Mexico and also how long dead trees can last. You'll be surprised.

As to the feasibility of removing these blazes Forrest said …

“ While it's not impossible to remove the blaze it isn't feasible to try, and I am certain it's still there.”

Here are the 4 blazes






The last time I went back to look this guy was under the above tree, no kidding.

A few days later I learned the chest was found.


No paddle up your creek?….does that mean no boat is necessary because a road takes you right to the spot?

Heavy loads and water high?….the Chama is known in this area for it’s heavy loads of silt. Water high may refer to the rapids of the Screaming Left Hand Turn. I may or may not find out.

I have looked quickly, slowly and repeatedly below all of these blazes. I am not of the digging school so I thought perhaps in was in a true trunk, under a layer of leaves, sunken down in a hole and covered with a rock, etc.

The last time I went back with a metal detector just in case, but Mr. Rattle was so peaceful I didn't want to disturb him or me.

The only thing I ever found looking quickly down was that snake and so it goes.


He was at the red dot below, cute little fella.


Brave and in the wood...refers back to the location – Screaming Left Hand Turn? and the wood on this piece of land?

Sounds viable to me.

Prior to my most current solve, I went in another direction for “no place for the meek” but that will have to be another story.

More than anything this place strikes me as the perfect spot to believe is all your own. Hardly anyone goes down this little day use only road and I’m sure it’s only fisherman who found the spot long after Forrest did. There is a feeling of privacy and solitude.





I have tried to make the search stretch down to The Big Eddy takeout but it just hasn’t worked. Here’s the shuttle service that picks you up which is why I bothered looking there at all.

Up the creek shuttle...the coincidences never end.


Shuttle Service

Up the Creek Shuttle $85 from El Vado Ranch to Big Eddy $130 from El Vado Ranch to Chavez Canyon

You may set up your shuttle at Cooper’s El Vado Ranch office during open hours or Call 575-588-7704.

Well that’s all I have today. I had planned to go back to those blazes when it was too cold for the snakes but someone solved the poem and I am thrilled for them.

When I feel inspired I’m going to write about my first solve from Chavez canyon put it. It was an incredible adventure that I will never regret or forget.


I love my solve even if it is dead wrong. I've had incredible adventures and don't regret a thing. Much love to everyone and especially to Forrest. I just love that guy!

bottom of page